The recent tragic car accident involving a California woman underscores the dangers of distracted driving. Sacramento news reports that a 22-year-old woman was driving Saturday when her car went off the road at a high speed and crashed into a utility pole. Reports indicate that “cell-phone distraction” may have been a factor in the crash because a call was taking place at the time of the accident. The woman was pronounced dead at the scene.
Despite significant efforts to reduce the incidence of distracted driving – including California’s hands free law – a majority of Californians admit to engaging in distracted driving. In fact, A University of San Diego study revealed that 78% of college students admitted to using a phone while driving.
Further, Reports indicate that in April’s distracted driving sweep by law agencies across California resulted in 57,000 electronic distracted driving tickets. Another 3,800 were written for general distracted driving, the Office of Traffic Safety reported May 16.
Last week Senate Bill 1310 was approved, increasing fines by $30 to $251 for a first offense, and $60 to $372 for each subsequent offense.
Under current law:
• Adult drivers (18 and older) may only use hands-free devices.
• Drivers are prohibited from sending text messages.
• Minors are prohibited from using wireless phones while driving — with or without hands-free accessories.
• School bus operators and transit bus drivers prohibited from using cell phones while driving.
For more information about distracted driving or if you have been injured in an accident where distracted driving may have been a factor, please contact the skilled Stockton car accident lawyers at the Law Office of Frederick J. Sette for an immediate consultation.